Home

WHAT?

After my change of direction at the beginning of this week, I have re-routed my research to a more textile based route. Whilst in college, I studied Fashion Textiles and covered a range of different techniques which captured my interest such as quilting, weaving & batik. But I also wanted to explore crochet. This is something that is quite personal to me as my mum taught me how to crochet as a child, a technique that I had forgotten about until the summer break between 2nd & 3rd year. My sister was expecting her 2nd child and was wisely spending her maternity leave crocheting endless creations for her newborn; blankets, hats, dresses, booties & even teddies. Sadly my skills weren’t quite as advanced as hers but I quickly got back into the routine of it and after a few hiccups, I was hooked (pun intended).

So crochet as been a direction that I have been considering using before I even started back for my final year. However, I do not want to limit myself to knitwear so before my design brain gets carried away, I started off by simply researching into the origins of crochet. I don’t know much about the history behind the method so it was interesting for me as a fan of the technique to learn more about it.

SO WHAT?

From my research, I learnt that there isn’t much known about the origin of crochet. There are some who believe that it started in tribes amongst South America and there are others who believe it to have originated through Europe.

The word Croche literally means hook in French (History Cooperative, 2014). Which therefore insinuates that it was developed in France. From further reading, its clear that crochet became a popular during the 19th Century.

In 1824 printed crochet patterns were available for domestic use which endorses the commercial market available for such a textile.

It would seem that although this method has a rather elusive beginning, it quickly became a favourite amongst women of the times and began to evolve with society.

NOW WHAT?

I am going to read further into crochet & its history. From this initial look I can see that it was already developing through society so I want to explore the timeline and see how much it has changed.

Leave a Reply

