Home

WHAT?

When I think of popular culture within modern fashion, I don’t think of the high street stores as you’d expect, I think of MOSCHINO. They’re a fashion power house of colour, print & iconic symbols. They’re most recent catwalk collection was a live runway of Barbie like designs. They’re fun, eccentric and very commercial. The S/S 2015 collection was like a scene from an american Malibu movie! Bright colours, short hemlines, figure hugging shapes. Even their shop collections follow the same lines as their catwalk ones, sold in department stores such as Selfridges.

In contrast to this, when I think of popular culture within creative history, I think of pop artist Andy Warhol. An obvious choice I know, but his work was exceptionally iconic for his time and has been throughout history. Much like my research on Inger Carina, Warhol was another literal artist. He took items of everyday life and created artwork with them. Simple, yet very effective.

Another aspect of todays popular culture is technology and most notably Apple. Over the past 10 years, their products have developed faster than their competitors and have always had the edge on technology. Completely unrelated to fashion, they still have to design their products. We’ve seen them get smaller, thinner, sleeker and over the past 3 years it has been in reverse with iPhones especially getting bigger, faster and yet still thinner! With the release of the Iphone 6 & 6plus it is clear how fast times change.

SO WHAT?

From this I have identified that sometimes the most simple of ideas are equally (and sometimes more) successful as the complex ones. But these are made with a range of clientele in mind. I myself have identified this as a weakness of mine. Last year I focused on the complexity of my garments mistakenly thinking it would make them more conceptual. This was a big learning curve for me and one that I am now grateful to have realised.

“Commerciality can get in the way of fashion…”(Missoni, 2010, p.77)

NOW WHAT?

Moving forward, it is important for me to remember my mistakes from previous work and build a really strong concept & contextualise it. Rather than over complicating my designs, remember that minimalism is also a beautiful technique. In fact, I think that as I have looked at some directional fashions, I am going to look at minimalism as a technique across design (not necessarily fashion).

http://www.moschino.com/gb

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Moschino

http://www.vogue.co.uk/fashion/spring-summer-2015/ready-to-wear/moschino

http://www.style.com/fashion-shows/spring-2015-ready-to-wear/moschino

Below are some images of the brands work – as you can see, bright, colourful, fun. Novelty almost.

Unknown-4 Unknown-2 Unknown-3

Leave a Reply

