Home

WHAT:

Today I took my sketches further and created my drawing on the stand. I used my bodice block – complete with darts & using lightweight calico I began draping this around the neck. I twisted and pinched the fabric to create this lovely collar like element on top of the bodice. Once I was happy with my creating, I photographed it; not only to document the process but also to continue with my sketching development.

SO WHAT:

It’s important for me to experiment like this as it helps me to visualise designs and how I want to move my work forward. Its also helped me to work with manipulating fabric & creating texture from flat material. It also helps me to think conceptually about my work and how I want to approach this project. It’s enhancing my thinking as a designer.

NOW WHAT:

Now that I have these new photos, I can work on to these and continue to develop my work. I’m now going to experiment with designs and sketches using tracing paper which should help me move forward with my designing process. I also want to start thinking about how to incorporate crochet into my work so will also look further into this.

Creative Pattern Cutting One Creative Pattern Cutting Two Creative Pattern Cutting Three

Leave a Reply

