Home

WHAT:

I have been researching into fabric manipulation using secondary resources to discover new techniques that I can put into practice. I’ve found the following methods that I plan to try during my time in the studio: Gathering, Shirring, Mixed Media & Ruffling. Although I have already heard of these methods, I’ve never really included them into my work – therefore I want to try and see how they look. I also used a scarf that I’d made and tried draping this on the stand to see how this looked. I liked the idea of this but from seeing it, I think I want to find a more innovative way to include this within my work.

SO WHAT:

By doing this research, I have explored new directions for my work & taken existing ideas further. I can now experiment with new skills and build on my practice to move my design development forward.

NOW WHAT:

In my next studio session, I am going to experiment with these manipulation techniques and see how they work and whether I want to incorporate these into my final designs. It will also provide good supporting evidence & research for both my FMP & essay.

IMG_6098IMG_6099IMG_6101IMG_6097

Leave a Reply

