Home

WHAT?

As planned, I visited the V&A museum to further my research and knowledge on fabric/garment design. There were some eye catching pieces on display, particularly the period pieces from fashion past times. Women’s dresses were particularly textured with different techniques which can be seen in the pictures below. I’ve discovered that not only were these elements decorative, but there were also used to give volume to a garment.

SO WHAT?

I’ve looked at the images I took from my visit to the museum and used these within my work. They have provided my with some inspirational ideas which will no doubt help my design development. I feel more confident now that I can continue my design work and start moulding my ideas towards my final toile.

NOW WHAT?

Next week I want to try making a half toile with a double cloth (like lining) to see if this is something that I want to try as a lining alternative. This is something that I haven’t tried before and will enhance my knowledge and skills within the pattern cutting area.

IMG_6585 IMG_6587 IMG_6581

Leave a Reply

