Home

WHAT?

I have been looking into the career of designer, Yves Saint Laurent. In a book titled ‘Yves Saint Laurent Style, Style, Style’, I was able to read about all aspects of his career and how he developed as a practitioner not to mention a visual bible of his designs and drawings.

Although his name is well recognised on its own, he was actually successor to Christian Dior. After Laurent ended his career in 2002, Pierre Berge began collating the material for this book to forever preserve and display the brilliance of Laurent’s work.

SO WHAT?

This has been important to read through as seeing how his work has been described as transferring power to women through design, using masculine lines to provide females with the sense of leadership and status. He used aesthetics and social issues to guide his design form dresses to blazers his goal was to glorify women.

As a designer he wanted women to feel certain emotions when they wore his clothes. Rather than embellishing women with layers upon layers, he wanted to given them to feel confident and unafraid to hide behind their clothes but embrace them.

The importance of this research to my own practice is essential, with any project I am telling a story and I need to consider my client/ target audience. Considering how I want the outcome to be and relate to my client is important. What do I want them to feel? How should they relate to my designs?

NOW WHAT?

Something that I have identified throughout my research into couture is the illustrative style. I am going to research this area further as illustrations are an important part of the design process.

http://www.ysl.com/gb

 

Leave a Reply

