Home

WHAT?

Two pieces are a popular trend at the moment, and my creative pattern cutting designs featured them. I decided to take those ideas and bring them forward to my major project. I have already changed these to suit my ideas for my concept – taking traditional crochet and incorporating it into contemporary design.

So to start with I began toiling my strapless top. This proved rather difficult and it took me a lot longer than I thought it would.

I tried different techniques, 3D to 2D, body tape & flat pattern cutting. My most successful design was done through my flat pattern work. I worked with the bodice block and adapted this into a strapless top.

After I had figured out the shape, I started to think about the fastening. I wanted to use stretch jersey for the back so that it would just stretch over the head and fit tightly to the body.

I tested this and it worked well – I was happy with the pattern so I moved on to the second part of this outfit, the skirt.

SO WHAT?

I have made skirts previously and knew mostly what I wanted this one to look like. I wanted it high waisted with no waistband. However, when I made my initial toile, I felt that it was too short so I remembered my sandwiching crochet & decided to add a panel on the bottom.

I wasn’t really happy with this design and then I thought rather than making the panel on the base, I thought about making it more conceptual. I decided to try making the front panelled with sandwiched crochet.

This worked much better with my idea, I then decided to add a waistband, as this would stabilise the construction and support the front. I discarded the additional overlay garment as I felt that this wouldn’t add anything to my design and it would look better without it.

Working like this has allowed me to be more critical with my designing as I am doing it there and then rather than waiting until the end and reflecting on what I would’ve done differently. I fixed the problem and am beginning to really work as practitioner with confidence in my own abilities.

NOW WHAT?

Now that I have finalised my first outfit, I am going to start on my second outfit.

IMG_7625 IMG_7624 IMG_7623 IMG_7622 IMG_7621 IMG_7620 IMG_7619 IMG_7618

IMG_7548IMG_7500IMG_7499

Leave a Reply

