Home

WHAT?

This week I’ve been making my fifth final outfit.

When I made my final outfit, I already knew that I would use hook & eye tape for the back of my strapless top as this worked so well with the first outfit. I lined the top to hide all the seams and hand sewed the fastening on. This worked well and I embellished the back with some subtle beading.

The shorts went together easily, I chose not to line them and tried binding the base to hide the crochet join. It worked ok, I wasn’t as happy with it as I’d hoped but it does give the shorts some structure, which makes them different to the trousers. If I were to make them again, I would probably line them though as I prefer the finish & the hidden seams.

The jacket went through some creative decision changes along the construction lines. I tried the crochet panel along the back but I really disliked how it looked and therefore decided to remove that panel and just have a silk chiffon jacket. I also decided to shorten the sleeves as I felt that this would look better overall. I embellished the back with some beading which gave a twinkle effect with lighting. I was much happier with this finish – it worked well with the rest of the outfit and also doesn’t distract the eye too much from the crochet feature on the shorts.

SO WHAT?

This outfit has taught me that even the smallest of changes can completely change the outlook on a design.

NOW WHAT?

Finalise my collection and make my sixth outfit.

IMG_8648 IMG_8649 IMG_8089 IMG_8090 IMG_8091 IMG_8661 IMG_8662 IMG_8663 IMG_8664 IMG_8665 IMG_8675 IMG_8676 IMG_8677 IMG_8678

Leave a Reply

